Search Engine

Friday, 29 May 2009

AIA and ALA Name Library Award Winners

The American Institute of Architects has just found a partner to assist in its award-giving: the American Library Association is teaming with the AIA to present the organization’s biennial Library Building Awards.The AIA and the ALA has honored eight firms this year for the top library designs among licensed U.S. architects. The awards will be presented at the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago on July 13th.Winners include Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects for the Minneapolis Central Library, Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects for the University of California Berkeley's C.V. Starr East Asian Library, Perkins Eastman for the Chongqing Library in China, and 1100 Architect for the NYPL Francis Martin Library in Bronx, New York. Also honored are Richard + Bauer Architecture, Pei Partnership Architects, Marlon Blackwell Architect, Gould Evans, and Wendell Burnette Architects.This year's jury consisted of Douglas Ashe of Ashe Broussard Weinzettle Architects, Robert M. Woodruff Library's Charles Forrest, Sarah Graham of AGPS Architecture, Johnson County Library's Donna Lauffer, professor Claudia Morner of the University of New Hampshire, and Ann Voda of Bentz/Thompson.

No comments:

Post a Comment